My NECA IBEW Apprenticeship

Hi, thank you for taking the time to check out my blog! I will be sharing my journey with you throughout this apprenticeship. This is my first blogging experience so bare with me. I will try to make these post very quick and to the point. So here we go!

My name is Dwayne Crossgill. I am a first year apprentice that has been in this field since June ’14. I have a bachelor degree in Business Management which I used in my previous line of work as a manager of top rental car branch location for five years and a boxing fitness gym for 1 year. Long story short I was unhappy in management and sales so it was time for a change. I then worked with a friend who is a contractor doing home repairs. I found out quickly that I enjoy that type of work.

Soon thereafter a friend of mine who is a journeyman with local 26 informed me about the DC Step Up program and the apprenticeship. I went through the application process and was accepted into the step up program and shortly after accepted into the apprenticeship. Now 7 months into this new career and I am thrilled with my decision to make the change, and I am grateful for this opportunity.

Every day when I head in to work I know that I will learn a lot that day and be challenged both physically and mentally. What more can you ask for?

Check back soon for my next update…

Thanks for reading,
Dwayne

Appreciation for NECA / IBEW Apprenticeship program

Dear all my viewers.

I would like to start this blog by thanking the NECA / IBEW Apprenticeship. Speaking on the behalf of my fellow apprentices for giving us a career. Where we have to have or develop self-motivation from within to apply ourselves. Classrooms of people from different background and lifestyles working together as union brothers.